supporting, developing and representing community groups,
voluntary organisations, social enterprises and volunteering
  • UK Social Enterprise Awards opens with new categories

    Created: 12/06/2017

    The 2017 Social Enterprise Awards have opened to applications for 2017 with two new award categories: 'Tech for Good' (Category 10) and 'Community Business of the year' (Category 13).

    The Awards, which are hosted by Social Enterprise UK (SEUK), recognise social enterprise organisations for their business excellence and contribution to society. They also seek to identify and reward the achievements of individuals working within the social enterprise sector.

    UK social enterprises of any size may apply, providing that they trade primarily for social and/or environmental purposes, earn at least half of their income through trading activity, and commit at least half of their profits to social purposes or back into their business. They must also be able to show that their social purpose is evidenced in their governing documents.

    This year there are 13 award categories:

    Category 1 – UK Social Enterprise
    Category 2 – One to Watch
    Category 3 – Prove It: Social Impact
    Category 4 – ’Buy Social’ - Market Builder
    Category 5 – Social Investment Deal of the Year
    Category 6 – Health & Social Care Social Enterprise
    Category 7 – Consumer Facing Social Enterprise
    Category 8 – Education, Training & Jobs Social Enterprise
    Category 9 – Environmental Social Enterprise
    Category 10 - Tech for Good: Technology Social Enterprise (new for 2017)
    Category 11 – Women in Social Enterprise
    Category 12 – International Impact
    Category 13 - Community Business of the year (new for 2017)

    Organisations which are not social enterprises are eligible to enter Category 4, Category 5 and Category 10, whilst Category 11 is open to women working in the social enterprise sector only. All the categories listed above are open to organisations from England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

    Category winners and the overall UK winner will receive an award presented at the ceremony. Winners also receive a package including PR support, mentoring and business support consultancy. 

    The closing date for applications is Friday 07 July 2017. 

    To find out more click here

    What now?
    See other news/events in the General News category
    Go to the main News page
    Tell us about your own news

Suggest an update/report an error/enquire about this page

News/Events Categories:

FVA news (147 items)
Job Vacancies (1,533 items)
Social Enterprise (44 items)
Funding and Finance (812 items)
Training and Learning (1,140 items)
Community Events (2,163 items)
Goods Donations and Services (47 items)
General News (1,132 items)
Volunteering (375 items)
Partnerships Networks and Forums (83 items)

Go to the main News page

Share your news/events

It's free! Tell us about your event, news, training, vacancy etc. by completing a short form and we'll add it to our e-bulletins and website - accessed by thousands of people every month.